My Pride and Prejudice Week in Tweets

"To assure you in the most animated langu...

"To assure you in the most animated language" - Mr. Collins proposing to Elizabeth. Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. London: George Allen, 1894. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Oh, if only I was Elizabeth Bennet – gay, witty, clever, always quick with a pithy retort or an astute observation. I fell in love with Lizzy when I was about 14  and have remained so ever since – in fact my daughter’s middle name is Elizabeth. I must have been going through a bit of a Regency phase at the time because her first name is Georgina – rather grand, eh?

I’ve lost count how many times I’ve read Pride and Prejudice. I particularly enjoy the anticipation of reaching a favourite chapter, at which point I get all squirmy and force myself not to skip read in order to reach an instance of Mr Bennet’s famous dry humour or a moment of high drama in Lizzy’s love life. And Mr Collins’ absurdities  are always worth savouring.

That Single Slummy Mummy is Tweeting as girl detective Nancy Drew this week (go take a look), so along a similar theme, I’ve decided to Tweet a week with some memorable lines from Pride and Prejudice.

Monday

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.

Tuesday

A lady’s imagination is very rapid; it jumps from admiration to love, from love to matrimony, in a moment.

Wednesday

“Women fancy admiration means more than it does.”
“And men take care that they should.”

Thursday

For what do we live, but to make sport for our neighbours, and laugh at them in our turn?

Friday

The stupidity with which he was favoured by nature must guard his courtship from any charm that could make a woman wish for its continuance.

Saturday

“My dear, do not give way to such gloomy thoughts. Let us hope for better things. Let us flatter ourselves that I may be the survivor.”

Sunday

Miss Bingley was left to all the satisfaction of having forced him to say what gave no one any pain but herself.

There are a hundred others, but not many that would fit in 140 characters! If you’ve never read Pride and Prejudice, or any Jane Austen for that matter – do, do, do! And let me know your favourite literary character!

About Mandy Cochrane

I'm a control freak but I'm also a pushover, I cry too easily but don't cry when I really need to, I'm a workaholic but too lazy to do the things that really matter. I'm a whole mixed up bag of conundrums. I'll work it all out one day. Probably.

Posted on April 17, 2012, in My Week in Tweets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

